National Task Force

National Task Force

Throughout the project, a National Task Force of civic and higher education leaders offered their guidance and insights regarding the state of civic learning and democratic engagement in postsecondary education. Task Force members, collectively, have been involved in virtually all aspects of the civic renewal effort that is already underway in many parts of higher education.

Task Force Members

Derek Barker, program officer, Kettering Foundation

Richard Guarasci, president, Wagner College

Donald Harward, president emeritus, Bates College and director, Bringing Theory to Practice project

Sylvia Hurtado, professor and director of the Higher Education Research Institute, University of California, Los Angeles

Eric Liu, co-founder, The True Patriot Network

Gale Muller, vice chairman of worldwide research and development, the Gallup Organization

Brian Murphy, president of De Anza College

Eboo Patel, founder and executive director, Interfaith Youth Core (IFYC)

Carol Geary Schneider, president of the Association of American Colleges and Universities.

David Scobey, executive dean of The New School

Kathleen Maas Weigert, Carolyn Farrell, BVM, professor of women and leadership and assistant to the provost for social justice initiatives, Loyola University